Big things in Virgin Australia Supercars in 2017.

Some big things are happening in the Virgin Australia Supercars in 2017, and the majority of New Zealanders won't be able to watch it due to not having SKY. 

This is sad because after 2016 New Zealand has a Supercars champion again in Shane Van Gisbergen. 

After his move to Red Bull Racing Australia in 2016, it didn't take him long to look as though he is a title contender. The first part of the year, however, was a bit of an up and down and all around period for numerous people. 

In 2017 will Shane Van Gisbergen, have a 1 or a 97 on his door? He was quick to say he wanted to keep the 97. 

Other big things are Simona De Silvestro, enters as the only full-time female driver of the field for Nissan. DJR Team Penske is taken over by Kiwis, and in Shell colours once again. HRT name transferred from Wilkinshaw Racing to Tripple 8 Racing, Garth Tander goes back to Gary Rodgers Motorsport, and of course the dispute with GRM and Volvo Polestar.

Both Fabian Coulthard and Scott McLaughlin will be in Shell Helix liveries. Fabian Coulthard will utilise the number 12 and Scott McLaughlin the number 17. Number 12 is a Famous Penske number, and 17 the Famous DJR number. The famous Australian / American outfit fronted by an all Kiwi driver lineup for their first time. 

The only way to watch the racing here in New Zealand now is pretty much via SKY unless you want to illegally stream it. 

The Pukekohe event which is currently held in November could be the last New Zealand round of the championship this year after ATEED was disappointed with the spectator numbers. Do you blame the spectators, though? Not really, not everyone can view it. 

When New Zealanders are at the top of the game in a predominately Australian sport then we should all be able to watch and support, not just a select few. Considering the Government and economists are telling us to ditch SKY so you can save for your first house. 

Article published by D Blair, Hamilton

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *